Warrior Shepherd

It’s funny how a new perspective can really spin something you know so well and give it a serious make-over.  In particular I’m reflecting on Psalm 23.  Pastor Wes Feltner, in his sermon today as a part of his “Mix-Tape” series, focused directly on what I’m calling “the dusty psalm”.  It’s set aside as a ‘use-me-when-you’re-sad-or-someone-died’ verse.  Otherwise, this sleeper knock-out of a verse sits and collects dust beside us.

At least for me.

Today taught me one huge thing.  This verse isn’t about death.  It’s not even about the thought of death or comforting one in death.  This song (yes, all of the psalms are songs) is an anthem to those dying to live.  If we want to talk about power, let’s talk about this.

“The Lord (Yahweh) is my Shepherd.”  Short?  You bet.  Meaningless?  Weak?  Meek?  Absolutely and definitely not.  Remember who is writing this, and it transforms from passive/lovey-dovey to powerful.  King David wrote this psalm.  Let’s look back at who David was before he was King of Israel.  He was a young teenager, just one of thousands standing before the armies of the Philistines.  9-foot-tall Goliath had been strutting before the Israeli army for over a month, shouting “I defy the armies of Israel!”(1Sam 17:10)

The shepherd David, hearing this, first responded, “Who is this pagan Philistine anyway, that he is ALLOWED to defy the armies of the living God?”(1Sam 17:26)… See that?  He’s aghast at the very idea that Goliath is getting away with such a travesty.  When summoned to King Saul’s side he quickly tells the king that he’ll fight.  This is met with scoffing and rebuke, but that doesn’t deter David one bit.

LISTEN TO WHAT HE SAYS:I have been taking care of my father’s sheep and goats.  When a lion or bear comes to steal a lamb from the flock, I go after it with a club and rescue the lamb from its mouth.  If the animal turns on me, I catch it by the jaw and club it to death.  I have done this to both lions and bears, and I’ll do it to this pagan Philistine too, for he has defied the armies of the living God!  The LORD who rescued me from the claws of the lion and the bear will rescue me from this Philistine!” (1 Samuel 17:32)

Unreal.  He’s saying to Saul, the King of Israel, “He’s been a warrior since birth?  That’s nothing!  I’m a SHEPHERD.  The LORD has saved me from beasts before, this is no different!”

Let’s recap what happened next.  David lived unscathed.  Goliath died.  Killed by a shepherd.  Not a soft man, whispering sweet nothings to his pretty little sheep.  No.  A warrior.  A man who faced down bears and lions to protect those in his charge.  He rose up once again to protect those in his charge.  Israel.

Now let us jump ahead.  Who did God say he would use to save mankind?  David.  In reality, the LINE OF DAVID.   “And I will set over them one shepherd, my servant David.  He will feed them and be a shepherd to them. And I, the Lord will be their God, and my servant David will be a prince among my people.  I, the LORD, have spoken!” (Ezekiel 34:23)

And again.  To Jesus.  “I am the good shepherd.  The good shepherd sacrifices his life for the sheep.  A hired hand will run when he sees a wolf coming.  He will abandon the sheep because they don’t belong to him and he isn’t their shepherd.  And so the wolf attacks and scatters the flock.  The hired hand runs away because he’s working only for the money and doesn’t really care about the sheep.”  He goes on to say, “No one can take my life from me.  I sacrifice it voluntarily.  For I have the authority to lay it down when I want to and also to take it up again.  For this is what my Father has commanded.”(John 10: 11-18)

Did you catch those first 5 words?  JESUS IS THE GOOD SHEPHERD.  What’s this mean?   Jesus, who gave his life, and took it back up again, is a warrior!  Strong.  Mighty.  A bastion of power against the world and anything that can come at me.  The Lord is MY shepherd.  Not a weak person, but an unheeding defender who will face down my enemies!

I haven’t seen this version of my shepherd, ever, in my perspective view.  Does that mean He hasn’t been there?  On the contrary, he has ALWAYS been there.  He’s still there.  In the midst of my own screw ups, my current predicament, my inner struggles and lies…he’s standing tall for me.

When I go to my next court date, my Shepherd will go before me.  When I wake up tomorrow to face a week of work, He will go before me.  When I try to figure out where my finances will get better, and the Enemy begins to poke and prod, my Shepherd will lead me down the right paths.  He will, as he always has, provide for me.  My first step is to surrender.  Lay down.

Take a moment, realign your view.  See the Warrior standing behind you.  Now let’s run through this again.  Let it fill you.  Let it lay you down.  Let it cover you.

“The Lord is my Shepherd.  I shall not want.  He makes me lie down in green pastures.  He leads me beside still waters.  He renews my soul.  He guides me along right paths, for His namesake.  Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me.  Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.  You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies.  You honor me by anointing my head with oil.  My cup overflows with blessing.  Surely your goodness and unfailing love (mercy) will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.”

Leave a comment